Land Use

The Wenham Land Use department consists of staff liaisons to the Planning Board, Zoning Board of Appeals, Conservation Commission, the Affordable Housing Trust, and the Open Space and Recreation Committee.
Land Use Director - Kate Mallory
Websites: Conservation Commission and Open Space and Recreation Committee
Office: 978-468-5520 x8 
Fax: 978-468-8014 

The Conservation Commission's role is to preserve and protect the integrity of wetland systems in the Town. The Commission derives its authority from the Massachusetts Wetlands Protection Act and the Wenham Water Resources Protection Bylaw. The Commission is also responsible for the promotion and sound development of the natural resources and protection of the watershed resources of the community. The Commission may receive gifts, bequests or devises of interests in land, subject to the approval of the Board of Selectmen. The Conservation Commission consists of seven members appointed by the Board of Selectmen for three-year terms.

The Open Space and Recreation Committee is charged with developing and implementing the Town’s Open Space and Recreation Plan that identifies and plans for preservation of open space and recreation areas for the benefit of current and future residents of the Town. The Committee is comprised of up to nine members, serving one-year terms, and subject to reappointment by the Board of Selectmen.

Town Planner - Margaret Hoffman
Websites: Planning Board and Zoning Board of Appeals
Office: 978-468-5520 x8 
Fax: 978-468-8014 

The Planning Board oversees and implements the Rules and Regulations Governing the Subdivision of Land as well as site plan review, and special permits according to the Wenham Zoning By-Law and Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 41, s81. The Board consists of five elected members, with one member to be elected each year at the Annual Town Meeting.

The Wenham Zoning Board of Appeals exercises all powers granted to it by Massachusetts General Laws, Chapters 40A, 40B and 41 and the Town of Wenham Zoning Bylaw.  The Board hears and decides applications for special permits, appeals or petitions for variances from regulations governing dimensions of land or structures,  appeals taken by any aggrieved by reason of his inability to obtain a permit or enforcement action under the provisions of MGL Ch 40A, and applications for comprehensive permits. The ZBA is a three member Board with two associate members appointed by the Selectmen for three year terms.


Town Hall Hours

Monday 8:00 am - 4:30 pm

Tuesday 8:00 am - 7:00 pm

Wednesday & Thursday 8:00 am - 4:30 pm

Friday Closed

Contact Town Hall

Phone: 978-468-5520

Fax: 978-468-8014

138 Main Street

Wenham, MA 01984


RecycleSmart_logo_300x115 - Copy Code Red Logo for Webiste v2 white-logo copy